Pitter Patter of Happy Feat

 

Twirl!

Twirly B-girl!

I tend to forget what life was like before the B-girls danced onto the scene. I recall fuzzy images of watching R-rated movies, sipping lattes in coffee shops, wandering aimlessly through Target, and mapping out my next steps in 1st grade reading instruction. I also recall oohing and ahhing over smiling young families in the neighborhood and daydreaming about one day having our own munchkins. In those daydreams, F, the kids and I took leisurely afternoon strolls, spent Saturday mornings lazing about in cozy ‘jamas, and listened to the pitter patter of happy feet against the hardwood floors. 

Snap back to reality, oh there goes gravity…

Those leisurely afternoon strolls? Most afternoons I find myself frantically strapping the kicking and flaring B-girls into their carseats and rushing off to a hyper kid activity sometimes disguised as ballet class. Pitter, patter, rush rush twirl.

Lazy Saturday mornings spent in ‘jamas and eating flapjacks? Not so often. Instead, picture frantic mother packing breakfast snacks to go, strapping the hopping and gliding B-girls into their carseats and rushing off to the gym. Yes, the gym. The gym has a lovely kids’ center for ages 3mos and up. This is a life-saving service for those of us who need an hour or so of self-induced spinning and sweating (as opposed to the kid-induced spinning and sweating that will occur over the remaining 12+ hours of the day.) Pitter, patter, rush rush spin.

And the happy pitter patter of little feet? Those feet have been known to 6-step all over my peaceful slumber at 11pm, 2am, 4am. Pitter, patter sounds more like THUD THUD THUD. OW. MOMMEEEEEEEE! I’M FREEEEEEEZING…  

As I stumble into Ayay’s room to survey the scene, Dr. Seuss chants in my head: Left foot, right foot, left foot, right. Feat in the morning, feat at night…

 


3 responses to “Pitter Patter of Happy Feat

  1. God! You are so good! Love this.

  2. I love this, too. I can’t wait to see what will be posted next on this great writer’s blog.

  3. Excellent. Pretty soon C will be dancing with the stars.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

