Rain, Rain Don’t Go Away!

I like Santa Barbara better when it rains.  The wet pavement, soggy leaves, saturated soil and grass,  fresh smell,  green trees against overcast skies…it all reminds me of Portland!

The typical sunny SB weather is trying to make me weak, and I’m trying to stand strong against it. Last night all I could think about was the run I was planning on taking Monday morning — the one weekly run I get to have without having to push 20 pounds in a stroller. Yet, throughout the course of the night, I started rethinking my plan as I listened to the rain come down outside.  I woke up this morning and thought, “Great. I have to run on the treadmill.”

Wait. That’s what a weakling would do. I’m no weakling, darnit! I spent over 10 years running in the Portland weather, one day experiencing drizzle, a downpour, and hail all in a 45 minute period.  I could not, would not  let a little SB precipitation stop me now. So, I pulled on my speedy knee pants (still not cold enough for full length running pants), dusted off my wet weather running jacket and took off up Shoreline Drive.

And thank goodness I did. As “Womanizer” propelled me through the harbor and up the hill, I noticed 2 things. 1) It was cool enough to see my breath! 2) I was trying to dodge puddles left and right. The puddle dodging lasted a whole 3 minutes when I was hit by my own words, “I am not  a weakling!” From then on, I splashed through all the puddles I could find. 

Santa Barbara is beautiful when it rains. It gives the town a much needed facelift — all the vegetation perks right up and treetops look fluffy and healthy.  And oh how I love the greenery against a backdrop of grey skies. If I don’t look too closely (ignore palm trees and ocean),  I swear it’s like running through parts of Portland. 

As I was nearing the end of my run, I realized that I enjoy running in cool, even rainy weather more so than in sunny, warm weather. I’ve always known this. I just needed a reminder. The finish line came at the perfect time, just as blue sky started peeking out from behind the clouds. My soggy shoes and socks were actually comforting as I squished back to my car.

 

 


2 responses to “Rain, Rain Don’t Go Away!

  1. Uh-oh. I was on the treadmill, what does this mean? It means I got a nice hot kid-free shower after my run! Good Job!

  2. but if you run on a treadmill, you can balance that giant vampire book and read while you run!! oh, the toughest life decisions . . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

