I’m Not a Single Lady

“All the single ladies, all the single ladies…If you like it then you shoulda put a ring on it,” sang Ayay in the bathroom.

F glared at me with a somewhat disapproving look.

“What?” I asked innocently. “Beyonce is a great role model for her.”

Yeah, that’s right. My 3 1/2 year old sings Beyonce. Furthermore, my 3 1/2 year old likes to watch Beyonce dance, AND she calls her a princess. (Yes, that means I have shown her the latest Beyonce video. Believe me, I could do much worse.)

I admit, I like pop music and I listen to it often. When the girls are in bed, or when we’re feeding Tingting at 4am, F and I check out the latest videos on MTV Hits. When F and I first saw Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” video, our jaws dropped, we were speechless, and then I had to wipe the drool rolling down F’s chin. Rewind please, let me see that move again. And that move. And that move. How does she do that? And so fast?

I was bubbling with excitement to try and learn Beyonce’s dance moves. I downloaded the Single Ladies video and attempted to shake it like Beyonce. Despite my natural sense of rhythm and coordination, when trying to be a “single lady,” I looked like a madwoman flailing about with no control of my limbs. After a few attempts, I gave up for the day, panting and wincing due to what felt like a strained muscle on my right side. It probably didn’t help that I  tried dancing with 20-pound Tingting on my hip.

I shall try again (minus the extra 2o pounds) because I’m determined to get this routine. Maybe I can impress F so much he’ll want to put another ring on it.

If you are unfamiliar with the Single Ladies video, be prepared to be amazed by Beyonce’s moves. Copy and paste the following: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mVEGfH4s5g 

 

 


2 responses to “I’m Not a Single Lady

  1. most people who I’ve showed that video to are most impressed that her leotard doesn’t slide up her ahem. what is it with people?? HELLO?? She’s DANCING!!

  2. What’s up with that Terminator glove? But shit, that bitch can move!

Leave a Reply

