SYTYCD

OMG! SYTYCD! (Imagine sounds of high pitched teenage-girl squeals coming from a 31-year-old.)

For those of you not in the know, Season 5 of So You Think You Can Dance starts TOMORROW! sytycd_girl_poster

Why do I love this show so much? Probably because if I could do ANYTHING in the world, I’d be a dancer. I never took formal dance instruction except 1 year of little girl ballet, and the only thing I remember about that was Ms. Nitchka was a bit frightening and I got to wear a pink sparkly costume for the end-of-the-year show. Oh, a few years after that, I took a summer of jazz dance class where I learned to “slice apples” and walk in a “BIIIIIIIIG circle.” Despite my lack of dance instruction, I love to boogie, and I love to watch talented, strong dancers show off their stuff.

Who will I worship this season? Who will send me to my phone texting madly over and over when the phone lines open for voting? Last year, I couldn’t get enough of Twitch, Joshua and Katee. Season 3 had me swooning for Danny and left me speechless that Sabra could be so good after so few years of dancing. Season 2 was the biggest one for me. I woke up early one rainy Saturday morning and stood in line to purchase tickets for the SYTYCD Season 2 tour. My sister-in-law and I sat in the 2nd row screaming our heads off while trying to make meaningful eye contact with Benji, Travis and Allison. Sure, we were the only 25+ year olds in a sea of 12-year-olds. There’s nothing wrong with that! Right? Of course, Season 1 started it all. How could I forget Melody, representing for the Filipinos, and her dear friend Nick?

Any SYTYCD fans out there? Come on over for some wine and dancing. I’ll try to keep the squealing to a minimum, I promise.

2 responses to “SYTYCD

  1. Okay, you’ve convinced me…I’ll be checking it out this season. I hope this doesn’t end like my foray with The Bachelorette 😉

    • maggiebahnson

      You’re gonna love it! It’s not at all cheesy. Dancers have all sorts of backgrounds, from hip hop to ballet to ballroom, some trained and some without any formal dance instruction. You’ll be amazed!

Leave a Reply

