June 28, 2009

Today was an eventful day.

I completed the Breath of Life Ventura Triathlon this morning. It was the first event of what I hope to be a summer of similar events during which I engage in self-inflicted physical and mental torture.

Here’s a brief synopsis of what went down in Ventura:

The Swim: It was so short I barely remember it. Wait, I take that back. There was one significant moment — As I was making my final stroke into shore, my fingers had just grazed the ocean floor when a wave came crashing over me. Bundles of kelp and sea foam enveloped me as salt water flooded my nose and I pounded into the shore. What a way to make an entrance back onto the beach. Graceful and effortless as I tumbled in, just like the pros. Ha!

The Bike: Fast and flat. Uneventful, fo’ reeeeeelz.

The Run: Oh, the run. The first 10 minutes of a triathlon run have always been painful for me. (And I LIKE to run!) It’s during those few minutes I think to myself, “Why the hell am I doing this?” But eventually the running legs come out and life is good again. It’s during the run when I try to chase down those 20-somethings, trying to prove that this 31 year old mother of 2 can whoop some ass. I did whoop some ass…not many, but a few. 

The Finish Line:  F and the girls were at the finish line. Ayay had her face smeared with cream cheese as she whispered to me, “Mommy, I think you’re the fastest runner!” 

I managed to finish in the top 1/3 of my age division. I won’t tell you how many people were in my age group, but there were enough to make me feel proud to say I was in the top third! And like in any event I do, there was someone tougher, stronger, and wiser whose mere presence gave me inspiration. In this triathlon, inspiration came in the form of an 80-year-old man who crossed the finish line well before the last finisher. Maybe if I keep this up, I’ll still be doing triathlons when I’m 80. And if that’s the case, I should be able to medal in my age division simply by being the only female in my age bracket? Woohoo! My time will come!

That was the triathlon. But the day continued to get better…

Later in the bathtub, Ayay had me close the sliding glass doors so she could splash around. When she was done, she told me she just finished swimming, biking and running, just like Mommy.  Ah-ha! Despite my oh-so-frequent low moments of parenting, I AM managing to be a good role model for my daughter!

And to top off the day…I watched Tingting take her first steps!

I gotta say, it was a good day.

6 responses to “June 28, 2009

  1. Congratulations on all accounts!!

  2. Hooray! Sounds like a momentous day!! 😉

  3. Congrats- you’re one tough cookie. Also, congrats to P! How exciting!

  4. I am a fan of this day.

  5. Congratulations! You’re so amazing,and congrats on the walking baby!

Leave a Reply

