Dirty Pop

“Did she say disco stick? That’s silly,” said Ayay.

“Um, I don’t know…” I lied as F drove the car with an astonished look on his face.

“Yeah, she said ‘I wanna take a ride on your disco stick.’  That’s silly,” Ayay told us.

“It should be pogo stick,” she added. “That’d be better. Yeah, pogo stick.” 

Ayay was referring to the latest Lady Gaga song, LoveGame. (Lyric: Let’s have some fun, this beat is sick. I wanna take a ride on your disco stick. I know, 100% completely inappropriate, but I didn’t realize Ayay would actually catch that line. Silly me.)

F and I took the easy way out and simply ignored her comments (while trying to suppress our own shock and laughter) as I switched to a different playlist on my ipod.

“Here, let’s listen to some wholesome Taylor Swift,” I told her. Maybe if I never play LoveGame again, Ayay won’t bring up the disco stick/pogo stick discussion again? Let’s hope?

A few hours later, back in the car, MIA’s Paper Planes is on the radio.

“I don’t like this song,” Ayay says. “I want to hear the pogo stick one.”

“Huh?”

“The pogo stick song,” she repeats.

When F and I  realize she’s referring to the Lady Gaga song again, F tells me, “Pop culture exposure has gone too far. We gotta draw the line.” He’s even using hand gestures. I know he’s serious.

Oh, fine. No more Lady Gaga for Lady Ayay.

6 responses to “Dirty Pop

  1. hahah! I can just imagine the look on Fred’s face. You have to love the innocence of children though.

    • maggiebahnson

      It’s all fine and dandy until she asks, “What’s a disco stick?” Then what do I say?!?!?

      • tell her it’s like a disco ball, only a…stick? Ok, no matter what you do it’s going to sound inappropriate- tell her it sparkles and glows 🙂

  2. Oh my God that’s so funny. If it makes you feel better, I was flipping through stations the other day and Zoey demanded that I go back to the rap song I had passed by. She insisted that she had heard it the other day at Grandma Heather’s house. (My conservative, Republican, Christian mother-in-law. Yeah. Right.)

    • maggiebahnson

      Yeah, we’ve had to monitor music videos. That’s where she got the idea of a diamond grill for her teeth!

      • maggiebahnson

        For the record, it’s not like I let her watch music videos all day! But you know, every now and then we might watch one on youtube.

Leave a Reply

