Lost and Found

I like routines and schedules. In fact, I crave and need routines and schedules in all areas of my life. For the past 6 months, I’ve had a strict triathlon training schedule, and now that my last official event has come and gone, I have no workout schedule. No purpose for exercise. It’s been 5 days like this and I feel completely lost. You think I’m a bit crazy? Yeah…so?

This morning, I found myself at the gym with no plan. I dropped off Tingting at the Kids’ Korner and wandered into the cardio room. I decided to try something different, so I hopped on the elliptical machine to do 30 minutes of cardio. After scanning the TV’s and learning that Chicago lost the bid for the 2016 Olympics, I looked at the clock…4 minutes had gone by. 4 long, boring minutes. After 15 minutes, I had had enough. I wiped down the machine and wandered into the weights room.

Weights? I haven’t lifted weights in over 6 months. Biceps curls, shoulder exercises, lunges, triceps, squats…enough. Done. Get me out of this testosterone filled room please.

What to do now…I meandered down one hallway and back, down a ramp to the bathroom, back up the ramp and up to the aerobics studios. I stopped to read some bulletin boards and peeked into a yoga class. I wandered to the other end of the gym and took a look at the pool, wondering if anyone was lap swimming. I finally decided to do some stretching in the Techno Gym, where I saw a friend who suggested I run the SB Half-Marathon in November. Hmmm…

After 35 minutes of unfocused exercise and 15 minutes of aimless wandering, I called it a workout. As I drove away from the gym, I thought more about my friend’s half-marathon suggestion, and in my head, I started mapping out a possible half-marathon training schedule. 5 weeks until the half-marathon? I think I may have found a new focus.

Leave a Reply

