Trauma in the Mountain

Outside of Space Mountain, Tomorrowland, Disneyland. My bro, with CT, comes staggering out of the exit. CT was all smiles while my brother looked both nauseous and dizzy.

“You got any Advil?” he asked.

“You couldn’t handle Space Mountain? Really?” I said.

My brother and CT took the girls to Dumbo while F and I made our way into Space Mountain. I can’t handle rides that spin around and around (like the teacups, Dumbo, and carousels) but roller coasters…I love roller coasters. Oh, wait. I haven’t actually been on a roller coaster since I was about 14 years old. But I loved them then so this’ll be great!

As F and I happily made our way through the Space Mountain tunnels, I didn’t even think about the fact that I get motion sick in cars, boats, and even while swimming laps. Believe it or not, but I even get motion sick when I turn my head too quickly. But why would that have anything to with how my mind and body would respond to Space Mountain — a roller coaster that twists, turns, and whips around almost entirely in the dark? Silly me.

Within 5 seconds of the ride, while climbing the “mountain” surrounded by bright flashing lights, I started getting motion sick. I clutched F’s hand as we neared the top. I peeked over the side to see little “stars” above and below us, way below us. Oh dear god. What did I get myself into?

We started our descent, whipping around this way and that, up and down, left and right. Oh god. When will this be over? Zooming past all the little stars was making me dizzy so I had to close my eyes which, of course, made things worse. With my eyes closed, I couldn’t help imagining myself in an airplane (my LEAST favorite place of all places) plummeting to its doom. Oh fuck. Get me off this thing. I was panicking. I couldn’t breathe. I was nearly in tears. Ok, I thought. What do I do when my airplane hits turbulence? I go to my lamaze breathing. And that I did until the ride came to its complete stop.

I staggered off the ride and into the daylight feeling both dizzy and nauseous, exactly how my brother looked.  An hour later I was still both physically and emotionally traumatized by Space Mountain. But, things could have been worse.  At least I didn’t pull a back muscle, which I hear is what happened to my father-in-law! Oh, how I’d love to hear that story as well as any other stories about getting one’s ass kicked by Space Mountain!

4 responses to “Trauma in the Mountain

  1. Sweet, a fellow ‘gets sick from turning her head’ girl! I got nauseous yesterday because the dentist sat my chair up too fast. I am serious weak sauce! I went on the Superman roller coaster at Six Flags when we first moved here and I don’t think I recovered for a good three hours…I’ll never try SPace Mountain!

  2. Space Mountain is NOTHING compared to Expedition Everest at Disney World’s Animal Kingdom. I was dizzy for at least a half hour after getting off that thing and I don’t get motion sickness or any of that stuff. After going on that, Space Mtn is now child’s play for me!

  3. I rode the space mt. at Disneyworld with ur Dad. I made such a big mistake. I thought I I was dying, My eye were close the whole time, I made your Dad sit on my lap the entire ride. I was dizzy, etc. I swore I will never do such a thing again. Am sure I told you about my experience and warned you all about it and maybe you forgot.This was when we lived in NY.
    Your Dad was scared too, he almost lost his camera.

    • I do remember you telling me that, but at the time I thought you two were wimpy! I loved the ride when I last rode it..over 15 years ago. SOmething has happened to me over the years and I just can’t handle those rides anymore. I’ll NEVER go on Expedition Everest. I probably wouldn’t make it out of that one alive!

Leave a Reply

