It’s February? Really?

I was born in Brooklyn, NY. I grew up in southeastern Wisconsin, and I attended high school in Connecticut. I know cold weather. I know snowy weather. During mid-winter in Wisconsin, it is not that unusual for school to be cancelled due to extremely cold weather. I’m talking negative temperatures with even more negative wind chill. Keep your ears and noses covered, kids, unless you want them to freeze and fall off! And if the school bus can’t start because it’s been sitting out in the cold, then the kids can’t go to school.

Perhaps having spent my childhood and teen years with real winters has made me appreciate Santa Barbara all the more.

It’s Monday, Feburary 15th — Presidents’ Day Weekend. The sky is a perfect blue as the sun warms the air to a pleasant 75 degrees. By mid-morning, Ayay changes into a tank top and F throws on a pair of shorts and a t-shirt. We spend the day playing in the yard, having a picnic lunch, and then enjoying ice cream before running around in front of the Mission. And did I mention F had his first day off in almost 5 weeks?

Thank you Presidents and thank you Santa Barbara!

The Mission

ICE SCREEEEEEEEEEAM!

2 responses to “It’s February? Really?

  1. I didn’t know you were born in Brooklyn! That’s where I hail from!

    I was in LA for Presidents Day and it was THE best weather ever! So lovely!

Leave a Reply

