Why I Run

I run for many reasons: to feel strong, to maintain a certain level of physical fitness, to burn off the cheeseburger I ate last night, to eat that piece of chocolate cake tonight, to enjoy the beautiful outdoors and to briefly escape and find a moment of peace in my life as a stay-at-home mom of 2 energetic girls and life support system of a general surgery resident. For the next 5 months, I’ll be running for these same reasons and more.

I’ve joined the local chapter of Team in Training, and this summer I’ll be training for the Nike Women’s Marathon while raising money and awareness for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (LLS). The money I raise through the Society’s Team in Training will help fund blood cancer research and patient services. Over the past 22 years, more than 450,000 passionate and committed Team in Training participants have helped raise more than 1 billion dollars for LLS.

Every four minutes, 1 person is diagnosed with a blood cancer. Every 10 minutes, 1 person dies from a blood cancer.  Roughly 139,000 people will be diagnosed with a blood cancer this year. F and I have had friends, relatives, acquaintances and co-workers who have been affected by blood cancers, and as I run and train this summer, I will remember that I am training to help those we know as well as the thousands and thousands of other people affected by blood cancers.

I invite you to take a look at my fundraising page and join me in supporting and advancing the mission of LLS. Your donations help fund research to find cures and better therapies and provide information and support so that patients and their families can have the best possible outcomes during their cancer experience.

To learn more about The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training please visit www.teamintraining.org. To learn more about the Santa Barbara Chapter, please visit Santa Barbara Team in Training. You can learn more about leukemia, lymphoma, and other blood cancers at The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. And of course, you can donate to support my fundraising effort for LLS here.

4 responses to “Why I Run

  1. I’m donating on Friday (gotta love payday :)) I’m so proud of you!

  2. Team In Training VA

    It sounds like you have wonderful reasons for running! Stay focused on those reasons when training (or life!) gets tough.

    We’ll be at Nike Women’s… it’s going to be a great event!

    • Thank you for your support and advice! I’m really excited about Team in Training, and I look forward to being at the event with other Team in Training participants from around the country!!!

Leave a Reply

