Vegas, Baby!

F surprised me by arranging a weekend getaway to Las Vegas. He took care of childcare, booked a room at Aria, made reservations at Nobu and scored tickets to Cirque du Soleil. We leave this Friday evening, and it is going to be fabulous.

The last time I was in Vegas was my sophomore year at Reed College, about 13 years ago. During our spring break, some friends and I drove down to the Grand Canyon via Las Vegas. The memories are fuzzy, but I recall falling asleep around the Luxor swimming pool, my friend getting sun poisoning, inhaling way too much cigarette smoke, eating way too much food from the buffets, and playing the slot machines at Circus Circus.

I’m due for a trip to Vegas and I can’t wait. (I’ll try to avoid the cigarette smoke and sun poisoning, but this girl is gonna eat!) A weekend away without the kids is just what I need. First, I just need to get through my 22-mile run Friday morning and I’ll be good to go.

6 responses to “Vegas, Baby!

  1. I’ve still never been! Have a ball!

  2. WOW F!!!! SCORE! It is your anniversary? I am so jealous! Have SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!! That is wonderful!!!!!

  3. Umm… “arranged childcare”? I think that line was supposed to be, “found heroic volunteers to whom I shall ever be grateful” — at least, I’m pretty sure that’s what it was supposed to be. Probably a typo or something. 😉

  4. Geez, and I thought I had it good when my man surprised me with a 6 pack of my favorite beer! F is sure setting the bar high!

Leave a Reply

