I’d Rather Clean the Toilet

I was making F’s favorite dish – the very simple Filipino dish of Chicken Adobo. As I was going through the tedious process of peeling garlic, I kept thinking, “When will this be over?!?!” This being not just peeling garlic, which I find to be PAINFUL, but the entire act of making dinner, which I find to be excruciatingly painful.

While the adobo was brewing, I texted my mom: Not one ounce of me enjoys any part of cooking! I’ve tried for years and years but I simply can’t stand it!”

To which my mom texted back: That’s OK. I don’t cook. Ur just like me.

Every day, 4pm rolls around and I can barely muster the energy to even think about dinner. When I’m in the kitchen trying to cook, my head starts spinning as I search for ingredients and utensils. I consider myself a smart woman, but I can barely follow a recipe. For me, the best part of cooking is the mandatory glass (or two) of red wine. It calms me while in the chaos of the kitchen.

I’ve tried to find inspiration…Giada, Barefoot Contessa, Paula Dean, Rachel Ray. Sara W. often posts recipes that seem doable and always sound delicious. Rita sends me simple, tasty ideas — she knows I need SIMPLE. Sarah from Late Night Kitchen cooks up delicious meals, and Drea is always whipping up something yummy.

But, I still can’t find the inner cook in me. I confessed that to a friend while running one day. She told me, “That’s ok. You might never find her.”

Yes, that is OK. I’ve got other things going for me. We are getting by just fine, and once F gets his real job, I’ll just hire myself a personal chef who’ll cook while I go clean the toilets. Ha ha!

Recipe for Chicken Adobo (can use pork):

-1 cup white vinegar
-1 cup water
-2 tablespoons peeled/crushed garlic
-1 teaspoon salt
-3 bay leaves ( I tend to use 5-6)
-1 teaspoon black pepper
-3 pounds chicken
-2 tablespoons soy sauce
-2 tablespoons peanut oil (optional, I do not use)
-1/4 cup of red wine (optional, but not really)
-hot sauce or dried peppers (optional, I go without)
-1/2- 1 full cup brown sugar (optional, I use 1 full cup)

Procedure: In large pot, bring to boil the vinegar, water, garlic, salt, bay leaves, hot pepper and black pepper. Add the cut up meat. Cover with brown sugar and once again bring to boil. Lower the heat and simmer covered for 30 minutes. Add the soy sauce and the wine and cook an additional 10 minutes, covered. Remove the meat and continue cooking the sauce until it is reduced by half. Serve meat and sauce with white rice.

5 responses to “I’d Rather Clean the Toilet

  1. This sounds so good! And, everyone is right, of course. I struggle through most runs, and always will. Everyone has their thing! (oh, and i’m gonna throw some money at the toilet cleaning situation, myself :))

  2. I’m right there with you…and I’ve compounded my pain by cooking one meal for my husband & me, another for the 7 yr old and something different for the 4 yr old. OUCH & I don’t even pretend someday I will enjoy it.

    • Yikes, Melissa! That’s a lot of work! I can handle making only 1 meal, but I will say, when the kids complain about what I make for dinner, it makes the whole cooking thing even worse. I’m glad I’m not alone!

  3. Try big dish recipes like lasagna or casseroles. Add sides of starch and greens. This way your main dish is extended for 2 nights!! Yeah! I love the leftover lasagna nights cuz I only have to sautee veggies and add garlic bread and I’m done. Makes that glass of wine a lot more enjoyable, too!
    P.S. Break spine of garlic clove with palm of hand or flat side of knife before you peel. Makes it less of a miserable experience.

Leave a Reply

