Happy Trails

I’ve been trying to run the trails around here. They are neither flat nor rolling. The trails here are steep. They tend to go up, up, up and then down, down, down. Park your car and warm up on the uphill.

I’m a full 3 minutes slower on these trails than I am on the road. I work 50 times harder running these trails compared to when I’m running on road. On the uphill, my quads burn and my lungs feel like they are on fire, and the downhill can be just as challenging, though with less fire in the lungs. It’s tough, but it’s also more enjoyable than I imagined. I don’t have those aches and pains I usually feel when I’m running on the road. I’m happier on the trail – my body feels better and my mind seems calmer.

Early this morning, it was just me on the trail, birds soaring overhead, the wind whistling in my ears and spectacular views of Santa Barbara and the Pacific Ocean from 1700 feet…definitely worth all my huffing and puffing.

Yes, the trails make me happy.

Leave a Reply

