Good Job, Me

I did it. I made dinner without feeling completely stressed (yes, the wine helped) and I actually somewhat enjoyed it. Could it be? Yes, it’s true. When F came home from work, the kids actually weren’t fighting, Raffi’s Christmas CD was playing (again), the tree was lit and dinner was already served at the table. And I actually felt some kind of positive emotional response within me for having cooked a successful dinner. As Penelope would say while patting her chest, “Good job, me.”

Here’s what was served at Chez Bahnson:

  • Chicken with Goat Cheese and Basil from Barefoot Contessa At Home (Thank you Ina Garten!) This was my first Barefoot Contessa recipe and it was a success. Easy and quick, which is what I like.
  • Wild Rice with Mushroom and Herbs thanks to Trader Joe’s
  • Steamed Broccoli

 

Ok, the rice and the broccoli were really simple, but I needed simple and the whole meal turned out really well. Baby steps, right?

6 responses to “Good Job, Me

  1. That sounds like an awesome meal, Maggie! I always love her recipes, but haven’t tried them yet…this one sounds like I should, yum!

  2. I adore her cookbooks. I have all of them except for “Family Style” . Anything you make from that book gives the impression that you are an accomplished chef. Try the Ceasar Salad from “Parties”. SO good. Also, the sweet potatoes with apples, hell everything from the “Parties”thanksgiving chapter. My kids won’t eat any of it of course but that is what Costco dino-nuggets are for.

    • Ooh, I’ll have to get the Parties book. Yeah, Penelope liked only the pieces of chicken with the goat cheese attached. Cecilia devoured her chicken only after I finally brought out the ketchup!

  3. I LOVE The Barefoot Contessa! Congrats on your successful dinner, at this time of year, pulling off something like that is a major accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

