I Can Relate

Practically every woman I know has struggled or currently struggles with some type of body image issue. A few of my own friends, some of the strongest and most outwardly confident women I know, have surprised me with their own insecurities and body image issues. I have struggled with my own body image issues since I was a chubby girl in the 2nd grade, and despite the various physical feats my body as endured, from childbirth to triathlons to marathons, I still have bad days or weeks. What do I do to keep myself positive? I keep running.

In the March issue of Runner’s World, Peter Sagal (host of NPR’s Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me and contributing author for RW) wrote an article entitled “A Thin Line.”  After reading it, I gave it to F and told him, “Read this. I can totally relate. This is ME.”

Maybe some of you can, too?  Click below to read this great, honest article.

A Thin Line: The memory of being fat never subsides — even after you become fit.

4 responses to “I Can Relate

  1. wow. I have to say, I never would in a million years, think of you as having a body image issue. You have an AMAZING figure, and I would say that even if you weren’t my friend! 🙂

    However, after spending a week on the waves and feeling pretty strong and happy…the pictures came back…sometimes I wish I just had my own internal image of myself 🙂

    • Ah-ha, so I must put on a good act! Maybe I act more confidently than I feel! Thanks, Sara!!!! And don’t worry about pictures. Just go by how you feel inside, because it’s that inner confidence that matters, and from what I can tell, you have amazing confidence and that shows!!!! You are bee-yoooo-ti-full!!!!

  2. i can totally relate to this, too. i just finished filling in my last workout for the week on dailymile, and even though i squeaked in an impressive (in my mind) 17 miles, my first thought was ‘why do i still feel pudgy?’. it’s good to know i’m not the only one thinking this way! thanks for this post maggie!

    • 17 miles is great, Amy!!!! You are definitely NOT alone. During my run today, I kept thinking,”Damn, I sure have a lot of junk in my trunk.” You know, I was feeling every thigh rub, every butt jiggle, and it doesn’t help when the 21 year old girl comes racing by showing off her perfect abs. But then I scolded myself for thinking all that because I was out there running, maybe not super fast, but I was running. It takes a strong body to run and we have to remember that! I’ve definitely gotten better about everything, and having girls to raise makes me even more aware of the message I might be sending to them. We have to be confident and strong for our daughters!!!!

Leave a Reply

