Run Now, Wine Later

Yesterday I ran the Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon. We had perfect running conditions: overcast skies and temperatures in the low 60’s…a perfect morning for a run from Santa Ynez to Solvang, over rolling terrain, past vineyards, lavender farms and some interested horses and not-so-interested cows. 

To my surprise, I achieved a PR I had been thinking about for a while: a sub-2 hour half marathon. When I had initially signed up for this race, I was planning on following a sub-2 hour training plan. However, I suffered a calf injury and was out of commission for 4 weeks. When I started running again, I had only 6 weeks to train and decided that speedwork would have to be benched for a while to prevent re-injuring my calf. I was getting in my miles, but my runs tended to be more casual.

The week leading up to the race, I knew that if I pushed myself, I could run a sub 2-hour race, but I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to push myself. On the day of the race, I was still unsure whether or not I’d go for that time goal.

Things weren’t  looking that great in the first 4-5 miles…I was having GI issues and had to make a pit stop at a porta potty, something I never do in a race. But I continued on, and at about mile 8, I realized that if I kicked it in a bit more, I could PR. It would be close, but I could do it. And I did it in 1:58:21.

What makes this PR even that much better is that I ran the ENTIRE race with the worst GI distress I have ever experienced during a run. To make a long, gross story short, my morning pre-race routine did not go so well and some things were not eliminated. Maybe I should have woken up half an hour earlier and had a small cup of coffee to get things moving, but nothing moved and that made for some mid-race leakage, if you know what I mean.

Yup, I ran my ass off until I was all pooped out.  It happens to the best of us, right? Right? God I hope so.

Anyway, the combination of running for time and dealing with GI distress took a lot out of me, and it took a few hours to recover from the race, but eventually I was able to enjoy my wine! 

And I’ve been left wondering…if I didn’t have that GI problem and was able to run more comfortably, if I didn’t have to make that mid-race porta potty stop, if I actually started doing speedwork and training for a specific time goal, I could probably  finish a half marathon even faster. Hmmm….


7 responses to “Run Now, Wine Later

  1. I love it! You are amazing! Knowing that you made it in under 2 hours with all the ‘issues’ just goes to show that you will blow that 2 hours out of the water!

    • Thank, Sara! I must say, the body and mind can do amazing things. And I must admit that for most of the race, I just wanted to get it over with – finish as fast as I can and get my ass to the bathroom.

  2. Great job! I always seem to PR when things are stacked against me and I least expect it. Crazy! And, yes, we have all pooped ourselves on a run. Or at least I have… Ha! You would not believe my pre-race hope-to-poop regimen I have built up on superstion over the years!! Or, maybe you would…

  3. And here is the birth of another coulda woulda shoulda 🙂 Ha! Trust me- I know!!! And yes, you can go much faster- you just opened that little window to yourself that showed you deeper underlying potential 🙂 Love, A multi-coulda-woulda-shoulda Momma. I might even have grandbabies already or great-grandbabies. 🙂 hee hee hee

  4. My brother watched the runners coming in at the NY marathon. He was in stitches laughing his ass off because so many of the runners had shit running down their legs!

Leave a Reply

