Speeches at Tiffany’s

I don’t usually like to be the center of attention and I dread public speaking. When I have to speak in front of groups, my pulse races, I begin to sweat profusely, and my heart starts pounding. So imagine how nervous I became when I was asked to model Tiffany jewelry AND make a speech for the Team in Training Preview Party/Tiffany & Co. Fashion Show this past Saturday.

Sure, I was a teacher and did my thing every day in front of a classroom of kids. However, speaking in front 25 first graders is WAY different and far less nerve-racking than speaking in front of adults. Imagine…

“Ok, ladies and gentleman, let’s all sit criss-cross on our bottoms. Hands in your lap and eyes on me. Touch your nose if you can hear me…” Yeah, that wouldn’t go over so well while speaking in front of over 50 adults dressed in cocktail attire surrounded by beautiful Tiffany jewelry.

So, I got myself together, prepared a speech, committed it to memory and practiced it in front of my kids. About an hour before the event, Cecilia had me do a dress rehearsal.

“Mommy. Put on the dress you will wear and the shoes and then practice one more time,” she directed. She then handed me a decorated toilet paper tube microphone and sat herself, Penelope and Fred on the couch to be my audience.

The speech was all part of a party honoring Team in Training. I modeled some beautiful jewelry from the Elsa Perreti line (Bone Cuff, Starfish Necklace and Earrings, Wave Ring and Bracelet) and then spoke about my experiences fundraising for Team in Training last year. I felt the speech went well, meaning my mind did not go blank nor did I fall off the small stage. Once I was up there, I hit my groove and the words came out pretty naturally. And my daughter assured me beforehand, “It’s good Mommy. Really.”

The event itself was a success. We recruited more people for our Nike/Disney Team, and we raised awareness about The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and Team in Training. I am so excited and honored to be a Mentor for the team this season. What a fabulous way to kick off the season!

*A future post will have pictures from the Tiffany event so that you can see the Tiffany jewelry I was privileged to wear. I fell in love with the Elsa Perreti bone cuff…considered pulling a Lindsay Lohan but was talked out of it.

3 responses to “Speeches at Tiffany’s

  1. Oh I have always wanted that starfish necklace!!!!! Ohhhh

  2. I just had to comment and tell you again what a great job you did! You were so inspiring and poised up there. No one could have guessed that you were nervous at all! Way to inspire everyone!

Leave a Reply

