Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

This summer I am currently…

– a participant with Team in Training, still training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon.

– a fundraising Mentor with Team in Training.

– the Campaign Coordinator for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training here in Santa Barbara!!!!

That last one is new which means… I officially have a job — one that has a paycheck involved. And I am so so so excited – about the job, not just the paycheck.

I’ve been at home full-time with my kids for the past 3 years. My love for running led me to Team in Training last summer. The mission of LLS/Team in Training, along with my running, turned into a passion which then prompted me to become a Mentor and fundraise again this summer. How fortunate for me that this passion has now turned into a part-time job as the Team’s Campaign Coordinator!

This job is perfect for me…25 hours/week with flexible hours and the ability to work from home a few days a week, a good blend of administrative work and time interacting closely with volunteer staff and participants.  Basically I am responsible for  the day-to-day logistics and administrative functions of the Team. I am no longer out there running with the Team because I now supervise the Saturday morning marathon trainings. Yesterday was my first day on the job supervising training, and I must say I just loved being there at the end as each participant finished his/her run. 

So that is the big news from our household. We’ve all been adjusting to a new schedule this past week. I started my job last Tuesday, Penelope started her new preschool schedule and Cecilia started 1st grade. We have lots of changes but we are managing pretty well so far. And the girls (and Fred) have been very supportive of my new job. They have been very flexible and understanding, and they have expressed genuine happiness with the fact that I have a job. They know that Team in Training has been such an important part of my life and I think they are thrilled that a hobby/passion has turned into a job for me.

Here are snippets from the mini press release sent out by Campaign Manager Erin Pearson to the Santa Barbara TNT participants and alumni regarding my new position.

Big Changes for Team In Training Santa Barbara!

Maggie Bahnson has accepted the role of Campaign Coordinator for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society here in Santa Barbara!

 As many of you know, Team In Training  has been working on restructuring the Santa Barbara and Ventura County Territories for the past year. The hiring of a part-time Team In Training Coordinator to manage the Santa Barbara Teams was a part of this plan and has been long awaited.

Maggie is an alumni with our Team In Training program, a top fundraiser in her season and has returned as a mentor this past Nike Season. She comes to us armed with a solid understanding of our local SBTNT culture, fabulous organizational skills and a passion for our mission. Her addition to our team will bring with it the ability for us to expand and grow other Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Programs while keeping our Team In Training culture in Santa Barbara strong and steady!

2 responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

  1. I couldn’t be happier for you Maggie! That is such exciting news!

Leave a Reply

