Registered!

Chicago has a special place in my heart. I grew up in a small town in Wisconsin, just an hour and a half north of Chicago, and I took many trips to Chicago as a kid and teenager. After graduating from college, I lived in an apartment within spitting’s distance from the Brown Line El tracks and practically ruined the roof of my dad’s Subaru by parking it under the El tracks every night. Many years later, I got married in Chicago, and a few years after that, both of my kids were baptized in Chicago. My parents now have a condo just off the Magnificent Mile, and we try to visit as often as we can.

Chicago is awesome, and in just 248 days, I will be running 26.2 miles through the Windy City with 45,000 other people. (And I know at least 3 of those people will be from Santa Barbara!) Even better – my parents are both taking that weekend off of work, meaning, after 20 years of running countless events, the Chicago Marathon will be the first race they will actually see me run, if they see me, that is. Exciting!

 

2 responses to “Registered!

  1. Yippee 🙂 Let the obsessing, uh-hem, training begin!!!!

  2. Obsessing has begun…and I haven’t yet done my first workout! If all goes well these next 13 weeks, I may have to continue with you in preparation for Chicago!

Leave a Reply

