Cowbells and Tutus

Have you ever been to a race with a strong Team in Training presence? You might notice participants donning the signature purple TNT jerseys. On the sidelines you’d hear shouts of “GO TEAM” with the clanging of cowbells in the background. The people yelling  GO TEAM and clanging those cowbells are often wearing any combination of purple and green in the form of wigs and tutus. Who are these people, you might ask? The TNT Campaign Staff, such as myself! 

This morning I took my kids out to our TNT group training and hung out with Elise and Santiago at one of the water stops. I gave one daughter an official TNT cowbell and the other daughter wore my co-worker’s green tutu on her head — all for cheering on the Team as the participants came through the water stop. At one point my kids asked, “Mommy, can I have this cowbell and this tutu FOREVER?”

“Nope,” I answered.

“Why not????” they asked.

“Because I need the cowbell and the tutu for work,” I told them.

Yup, some jobs require briefcases, stethoscopes, laptops, hammers and wrenches…mine requires a cowbell and a fluffy green tutu.  I get paid to stand on the side of a street yelling at people while wearing a tutu and ringing more cowbell. But it’s legit. I swear.

And of course I can’t talk about cowbell without thinking about the SNL skit with Christopher Walken and Will Ferrell. So if you’ve got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell, click HERE!

 

 

Leave a Reply

