In Case of Emergency

Frequently, on the way out the door to the store, the library, the gymnastics gym, a restaurant, the park, Penelope asks, “Mommy, should I bring my emergency pack? You know, in case we need my stuff?”

“What’s in your emergency pack?” I ask her.

“Come see! I have socks, in case I need socks. My pink sparkly wallet. Plastic bags. My special papers. And…my shell. In case we need a shell. For playing.”

And there you have it – a 4-year-old’s emergency supplies.

P’s emergency pack and all its contents (I particularly like her “special papers.”)

 

Leave a Reply

