Day Trippin’

About an hour away from Corvallis is the coastal town of Newport, Oregon, home  of the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Yaquina Head Lighthouse, Rogue Ales and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s Marine Operations Center -Pacific. We decided to venture out there for the day…I was in desperate need of some Pacific Ocean air and craving clam chowder and fish and chips.

Our first stop was Agate Beach. The beaches in Oregon are vast, which I remember from living in Portland and making day trips to the coast. However, I was shocked to find Agate Beach having the most wonderful sand I’ve experienced in years. Despite living in Santa Barbara for 5 years and wishing I had a home on Kauai, I’m not much of a sand person. I tolerate it, but I don’t like it. Yet the sand at Agate Beach was so soft, clean, non-gritty…I seriously could have rolled around in it all day long.

After a couple of hours frolicking on the beach, we hit Yaquina Bay and then the Lighthouse. I was completely stunned by the beauty of the Oregon coast, and I’m thankful that this beautiful coast is just an hour away.

Agate Beach

Beautiful soft sand

I love the clouds in this one.

A friendly beachcomber found this and shared it with us before putting it back in the ocean.

Selling fresh crabs at Yaquina Bay

Sea lions frolicking and lazing about – Yaquina Bay

Yaquina Head Natural Area

Yaquina Head Lighthouse

Yaquina Head Natural Area

We even saw a whale out there. The lava rock reminded me of Hawaii. – Yaquina Head Natural Area

Leave a Reply

