Sweet and Innocent

One morning last week, Cecilia was tossing, turning and moaning in her sleep, clearly having a very bad dream. About 10 minutes later, she groggily staggered down the stairs wrapped up in her favorite fuzzy brown blanket. She found me sitting in front of the computer and cuddled up next to me.

“Did you have a bad dream?” I asked her.

“Yes,” she whimpered, still distraught.

“What was it about?”

She sniffled, ” I dreamt…I dreamt… I dreamt that Mrs. Monroe wasn’t my teacher anymore.” She then buried her head in my armpit.

And???? But that was it. That was her very bad dream. During moments like these, I am reminded of my 7-year-old’s innocence.

So what can follow up that story? A sweet Penelope story? Well, in the car the other day, Penelope was telling me all about a sled. It was a sled her friend has, and her friend was telling her all about how they can go sledding and fit a bunch of kids on the sled at one time.

“Can we go Mommy?” Penelope asked.

“Sure,” I said. “We’ll have to make a plan to go.”

She added, “Oh, but Mommy. You can’t go on the sled. You have a too big butt.”

Awwww. Sweet, huh?

They're all sweet and innocent until one of them tells you you have a too big butt.

They’re all sweet and innocent until one of them tells you you have a too big butt.

2 responses to “Sweet and Innocent

  1. haha! I hear that one all the time. Make sure you tell them that your “too big butt” is full of muscles that make you run faster!

Leave a Reply

