Lessons from the 2nd Grade

This past Saturday, Fred and I attended the 2nd grade Parent Meeting at our daughters’ school. Every few months, each classroom teacher holds his/her own parent meeting in order for the parents to come together, get to know each other better, learn about the latest happenings in the classroom and discuss any of our own questions and concerns. These are usually well-attended, even fun meetings, because the parent body is comprised of individuals of all backgrounds who are supportive of the school, the teachers, and the Waldorf curriculum. Most of the meetings also have 1-2 activities in between periods of discussion. The activity is often one that the children do, and the teacher takes the parents through the activity in order for us to experience what the children experience in the classroom. This meeting’s activity: Form Drawing.

Form Drawing  is an aspect of the Waldorf curriculum that helps to develop hand-eye coordination, spatial sense, fine motor control, brain development and flexibility in thinking. Here are some examples of form drawing:

form drawing

Form Drawing 2

Form Drawing 4

Form Drawing 3

Form Drawing 1

Form Drawing 5

Each parent found a spot at a 2nd grader’s desk, unrolled our crayon pouches and watched as Mrs. M demonstrated the form drawing we were to draw ourselves. Needless to say, I was a bit nervous. What Mrs. M demonstrated looked like a complex pattern, and drawing of any form is not my strength. It was as if Mrs. M sensed my fear because she then said, “I always tell the children to bring their courage to all that they do. So just bring your courage to the form drawing.”

Bring my courage. I loved that. My form drawing was still mediocre at best, but I brought my courage and completed the 2 form drawings as best I could. The experience reminded of a few of my favorite quotes these days:

“We must walk into the arena with courage and the willingness to engage…we must dare to show up and let ourselves be seen.” – Dr. Brene Brown

“Do not live in fear. Dream big.” – Tom Wells

“You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.” -Beverly Sills

I love that my 7-year-old daughter is learning to bring her courage to everything she does, to everything new that she tries. There are several new adventures ahead for me: moving to our new house and starting our mini-farm, raising a puppy, several trail races to complete, and the new adventures that unfold as a wife and parent. To everything ahead of me, I will bring my courage.

Leave a Reply

