Wapiti

You know you live in the country when you see a herd of elk (aka wapiti) grazing in a field 2.5 miles down the street from your house.

The girls and I have been dying to see this herd of elk for the past few weeks. We’ve seen cows, a bull couple, coyotes, Bobby the bobcat, a hungry vulture, and finally the elk. 

Unfortunately, my iphone picture below doesn’t do the elk justice. I should start carrying around Fred’s fancy camera for wildlife moments such as this one. It was an amazing sight turning the corner and seeing these incredibly large animals grazing in the field. 

I can honestly say, I love where I live.

Elk - one of the largest land mammals in North America

Elk – one of the largest land mammals in North America

 

 

2 responses to “Wapiti

  1. Wapiti is one of my favourite animals!

Leave a Reply

