Love

I’m always willing to admit that being a parent is f’ing hard. There are moments/hours/days  when my kids make me want to tear my hair out, scream at the top of my lungs, shed tears of frustration…you know, have an adult tantrum. Thank goodness most of those moments are balanced out by incredibly sweet, touching, heartfelt moments.

One such moment happened this morning while I was dropping off Penelope at school. Rain or shine, her Kindergarten class starts every Tuesday morning with a forest walk, so she was all bundled up in her rain pants, rain jacket, rain boots and knit pumpkin hat, which she insists on wearing inside out so no one knows it’s a pumpkin. As she was talking to her friend by the cubbies, I waved and said, “Goodbye Penelope.” She walked over to me, so I crouched down on my knees to be at her eye level. She picked up my hands and put her beautiful, soft, bright face about 1 inch away from mine.

As she looked into my eyes, she whispered, “Ok, Mommy. Remember. The love I send you? Lock it up right there and keep it safe.” And she pointed to my heart.

I melted. What a wonderful way for Penelope to send me off on my day.

2 responses to “Love

  1. What a beautiful moment! I’m pretty sure that we parents receive more than we give when it’s all added up.

  2. Hold on to that one! And keep the keys to that safe deposit box of sweet moments close by – they are the most precious jewels and we must remember that we own them forever.

Leave a Reply

