Dreams of My 6-Year-Old

The other night, Penelope woke up crying and calling out for me. I went into her room and snuggled into her bed.

“What’s wrong Penelope?” I asked.

“I had a bad dream,” she whimpered.

“Do you want to tell me about it?” I asked.

In between sniffles, Penelope said, “I dreamt that I just got out of the shower and I was all clean. And then Cecilia took a pen and started drawing on me when I was all clean. And then. And then…”

She paused and then wailed,”And then she called me a BUTT!”

Oh, my sweet girl.

Leave a Reply

